Underground Hip Hop 3

You already know what this is about. I’ll be posting a few more tracks that deserve more attention. Some are from artists I’ve already mentioned in my previous posts just because displaying only one song by them does not do them justice.

1. Last Emperor ft. Poetic – One Life

This has to be the most emotional track I have ever heard. The second verse from Poetic of Gravediggaz is a true story. He was diagnosed with colon cancer and the doctor gave him 3 months to live but he fought hard and lived almost 2 and a half years beyond the diagnosis. How we take life for granted sometimes is so ignorant. We should be thankful for waking up in the morning every day, some people go to sleep afraid that they won’t live to see another day. Life is all about perspective.

“Early the next day in the hospital room
Moms and pops in the room, three or four docs in the room
Test results suggest your colon and your liver
Is so cancerous you got three months left
Me and Death is playing chess ever since then
My strength is the most high, my fam and close friends
The Last Emp and Set Free blessed me with a verse
Staying healthy comes first
Look at me things could be worst” 

Doesn’t get any deeper than this. His passion for hip hop was so great he wrote a verse knowing he was staring death straight in the face. Not for money, not for fame, 100% from his heart. RIP Anthony Ian Berkely.

2. Binary Star – Reality Check

I posted a song in my first post by Binary Star called Masters Of The Universe. Although that song is a great song, this song is by FAR the best song on the album. The first verse basically sums up the reason why the hip hop industry is so corrupted and how money gets to you.

“I’m use to being indigent, who said its all about the Benjamin’s?
I wanna fortune, I wanna make music and hit the lottery
Fortunately my music is never watery
that’s how its gotta be, as far as I can see
Maybe you should grab a telescope to see my view its like astronomy
It ain’t all about economy
so the fact that these whack emcees is making G’s don’t bother me
Honestly, my number one policy is quality
never sell my soul is my philosophy”

Too bad Jay-Z and Eminem never took these lyrics to heart.

3. Pitch Black – It’s All Real

How does Preemo keep making so many nasty beats. Check this masterpiece of a beat produced by the best producer of all time and I love the Nas reference “Arms too short to box with God” that they make. Overall an amazing faced paced song with beautiful scratching along with samples in the chorus. You never hear this kind of stuff on the radio for sure.

4. CunninLynguists feat Masta Ace – Seasons

This one was the hardest to choose. There are just so many songs I want to post by the CunninLynguists that it was a difficult choice. I’ll probably make a separate post about them soon but in the meantime enjoy this track that features one of the vets in the game, Masta Ace. He spits the first verse and his flow probably sounds familiar. That’s because Eminem took his flow. Too bad most people don’t know this.

5. eMC – Winds Of Change

Another song where Masta Ace takes the mic in the first verse. I want to post the full lyrics but it would take up the whole page so I’ll just post a link. Read the lyrics while playing the track. Everything they say is so true about “change”. It’s amazing to see how much society has changed over the years and one line that especially stands out to me is from the 3rd Verse by Wordsworth. “But some things are never better than their predecessors” It sure is true in the case of hip hop.

Lyrics at :http://www.lyricsmania.com/winds_of_change_lyrics_emc.html

6. Cormega – Beautiful Mind

I ended off with a song by Cormega in my last post. Once again I will end off with another track Cormega. The beat from this song has been sampled in countless other songs, because it is that good. Cormega delivers with his lyrics once again, you can just feel the emotion in his voice. The first line of the song is priceless. I couldn’t have said it better myself. Enjoy.

Leave a comment